Finalists for Avance Media’s 50 Most Influential Young Ghanaians ranking 2017, honouring distinguished young Ghanaians, have been announced.

The 50 Most Influential Young Ghanaians ranking recognises distinctive service across 10 different categories: Business, Entertainment, Law and Governance, Leadership and Civil Society, Lifestyle, Media, Personal Development and Academia, Science and Technology, Sports and Social Enterprise and Philantrophy.

Winners will be announced on 8th January, 2018.

Hailed as one of the most credible, Avance Media’s Most Influential Young Ghanaian rankings is the most respected system that honours youth excellence in Ghana. The 2017 Ghana ranking is the third in the series.

Previous editions have ranked investigative journalist, Anas Aremeyaw Anas as the Most Influential Young Ghanaian for 2015 and 2016.

CEO of Avance Media, Prince Akpah explains that “This year’s influential young Ghanaian is someone whose work has undoubtedly had a positive impact in Ghanaian life. The nominees have all excelled in their various endeavors, working to improve the lives of others, through hardwork, personal sacrifice and in most instances, made bold and brave commitments.”

Public voting has officially opened on to determine the overall 2017 Most Influential Young Ghanaian, and winners for the 10 categories.

Similar rankings by Avance Media and partners are currently ongoing in Cameroon, Tanzania, Nigeria, South Africa, DR Congo and Kenya.

Here is the full list of the 2017 Nominees

Business (in partnership with TANOE Business)

1. David Asare Asiamah (Agro Mindset Ltd)
2. Derrydean Dadzie (DreamOval Ltd)
3. Nana Appiah Mensah (Zylofon Media)
4. Philip Mensah (OmniBank Ghana)
5. Roberta Annan (Roberta Annan Consulting)

Entertainment (in partnership with WatsUp TV)

1. Lydia Forson (Actress)
2. Sarkodie (Musician)
3. Shatta Wale (Musician)
4. Stonebwoy (Musician)
5. Wiyaala (Musician)

Law & Governance

1. Francisca Oteng Mensah (MP)
2. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah (MP)
3. Kow Essuman (Lawyer)
4. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa (MP)
5. Alexander Afenyo-Markin (MP)