President Akufo-Addo will next week set up a Commission of Enquiry to examine the petitions for the creation of the new regions.

The creation of new regions was a major promise of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) during the 2016 elections.

The Party promised four new regions in the Volta, Western, Brong Ahafo and Northern regions.

The Council of State has already received the president's request.

Speaking during a courtesy call on the overlord of Mamprugu, the Nayiri, Naa Bohogu Abdulai Mahami Sheriga, President Akufo-Addo asked the people to make a clear case to the Commission of Enquiry why they need the new regions.